FCC recognized winners of Awards for Advancement in Accessibility 2017

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) of the United States of America announced the winners of the sixth annual Chairman’s Awards for Advancement in Accessibility on June, 13, 2017. This award recognizes public and private initiatives to promote technology accessibility and innovation. These were the winners presented during past M-Enabling Summit:

  • Winner:  Ava App for People Who Are Deaf or Hard of Hearing – is a mobile application that connects smartphones and uses microphones to transcribe conversations between various parties. It identifies speakers and generates captions from each participant that are showed on the device.
  • Winner:  Facebook – Automatic Alt Text (AAT) – this technology provides a spoken description of images based on Alt texts that are incorporated on each image. It is designed to support persons with visual impairments to use Facebook through object recognition.
  • Winner:  The Integrated Described Video Best Practices Guide – an Accessible Media Inc. initiative in collaboration with Canadian Association of Broadcasters to encourage producers to include descriptive text in scripts as a best practice for person with visual disabilities.
  • Winner:  Amazon – VoiceView – this software provides a spoken version of text on-screen as the user navigates to look for video programming. Users can modify setting such as rate of speech, volume and key echo. It also provides a onetime description of how to navigate its review mode to explore the layout of the TV screen.
  • Honorable Mention:  Aira App – is an application to connect persons with disabilities to agents using geolocation information, streaming video and other devices to provide guidance for users.
  • Honorable Mention:  Teach Access – is an initiative that combines efforts from different groups of the industry, academia and civil organizations to promote undergraduate programs related to accessibility through disciplines such as design and computing.

Source: Download the full FCC document